Activities near the Château de Romécourt

Halfway between Strasbourg and Nancy, the Château de Romécourt is ideally located for you to discover the north of the Grand Est region. From Romécourt, you will be able to visit both the north of Lorraine and the north of Alsace. You can enjoy the charm of the pond region for a week or more. You will find in the map below, all the activities in the surroundings.

Langatte wellness center

25 minutes by car from the cottages of the Château de Romécourt

Recent wellness center: 2 pools (many jets are installed in the pools, to allow you to relax and massage each part of your body (Sign Tower, Fountain, Multi-Jets, Against the current, Jacuzzi), 4 saunas, 2 hammam, 1 spa under
veranda, 1 fitness room, 1 relaxation room and its zen garden.

Site Web

The Daum crystal factory in Nancy

1 hour from the cottages of the Château de Romécourt

The Daum crystal factory was founded in 1878 and is part of the Art Nouveau movement. The brand is associated with the greatest artists of its time such as George Braque, Dali, etc. In almost 140 years, she has collaborated with more than 350 exceptional signatures. Part of this incredible collection is now housed at the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Nancy.

The specificity at Daum, consists in the mastery of crystal paste. This 7 millennia-old technique was rediscovered by Daum in 1900 and reworked in 1968. This unique process has the particularity of adding translucency to objects. The brilliance, color intensity and shadow tones are also easily recognizable and are the signature of the brand. Due to the manufacturing process, each piece has a unique color. This know-how is listed in the Inventory of Intangible Cultural Heritage in France.

Each piece seems to be alive and is a true work of art. All the objects are produced in France. A factory store is located on the factory site.

From the cottages of Château de Romécourt, you can explore the exceptional creations of the Daum brand.

The Saint-Louis crystal works

1 hour by car from the gites of Château de Romécourt

The crystal of the kings of France

In 1586 in the heart of a small valley deep in the forest of the Northern Vosges, at a place called Münzthal, the first glassworks were created. The Vosges forest of the Northern Vosges Regional Nature Park provides craftsmen with firewood, silica, the original fern and clear water. This forest is also an imaginary territory which inspires artisans with its tales and legends. It echoes Gaston Bachelard’s formula: “The forest is a state of mind”.

In 1767, by letters patent from Louis XV, the glassworks of Müntzthal took the name of Verrerie Royale de Saint-Louis. In search of purity and light, men seek to create an increasingly pure glass for the kings of France. The date of 1781 marks a historic milestone with the discovery, in France, of the composition of crystal by M. de Beaufort, a former director of glassmaking.

Since 1995, Saint-Louis has belonged to the Hermes group. With 430 years of crystal know-how, La Cristallerie Saint-Louis works in the worlds of tableware, decoration, lighting and furniture. Every day, she signs pieces made by master glassmakers and master tailors. In the hot workshop, fire fuses the crystal at 1,450 degrees. The breath of the master glassmakers then gives life to the shapes of the objects. In the cold workshop, the meticulous gestures of master tailors tirelessly perfect the decoration of objects.


In June 2007, the Saint-Louis Crystal Museum was inaugurated and presents nearly 2,000 pieces from the know-how of the crystal. A true place of memory, preservation and showcase of Saint-Louis know-how over the centuries, the museum is an architectural daring imagined by the Lipsky and Rollet agency located in the very heart of the manufacture.

Full price € 6, Reduced price € 3.

The cottages of the Château de Romécourt are ideal places to feel this connection to nature in mythical places. From there you can explore the Saint-Louis crystal works and experience this quest for purity for the kings of France.

Lalique in Wingen-sur-Moder

1 hour from the cottages of the Romécourt castle

Lalique is a French company, founded in 1888 by master glassmaker and genius artist René Lalique. Recognized for his Art Nouveau-style creations, René Lalique sublimates his classic figures (fauna, flora and nature).

The Lalique house has become famous in particular thanks to its emblematic handcrafted vases in its factory in Wingen-sur-Moder. It also produces decorative objects, jewelry, perfumes and art pieces.


René Lalique

Over the years Lalique has collaborated with the biggest luxury brands and many of the biggest artists like Zaha Hadid, Bentley Motors, The Macallan whiskey, etc.

Coins are sought after by collectors and can fetch record prices. On January 18, 2014, The Macallan, a 6 liter bottle of whiskey made by Lalique was sold by Sotheby’s Hong Kong in an auction for a record price.

In 2011, Lalique opened its boutique museum in Wingen-sur-Moder. It presents more than 650 works created by René Lalique and his successors. Full price entry: 6 €

The lodgings of the Château de Romécourt are an ideal place from which to discover the creative genius of René Lalique.

Brand website :

Museum website :

The Baccarat crystal

40 minutes from the cottages of the Château de Romécourt

Founded in 1764, the Baccarat crystal factory is a world-renowned crystal factory. A true emblem of French savoir vivre, Baccarat decorates and illuminates the most beautiful hotels, bars and restaurants in the world.

His creations (chandeliers, vases, glasses, etc.) are considered as works of art as the know-how and creativity are present. It takes 15 years for a master glassmaker to master the gestures and exploit the infinite sculptural possibilities of crystal. Baccarat now has the largest number of Meilleur Ouvrier de France among French luxury houses.

Thanks to a team of talented designers, Baccarat has kept its modernity and inspired the modern habitat of the 21st century.

The museum and the site shop can be visited. The museum has been completely renovated and is located within the manufacturing site. The visitor can hear the uninterrupted breath of the ovens of the Hall located just opposite. The museum is open Tuesday to Sunday from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and from 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. It is also open every Monday during school holidays.

The gîtes at the Château de Romécourt are an excellent starting point for discovering this impressive world-renowned know-how.

Georges Pompidou Museum in Metz

1 hour from the cottages of the Château de Romécourt

Created in 2010, the Pompidou-Metz center is one of the most visited French museums outside of Paris. It is a nationally significant art center, which attracts visitors from all over Europe and more particularly from Germany, Belgium and Luxembourg.

Its permanent exhibition is dedicated to modern and contemporary art. It presents major works of the 20th and 21st centuries and in the cultural landscape of Europe. The futuristic looking building was designed by architects: Shigeru Ban, Jean de Gastines, and Philip Gumuchdjian.

A true regional pride and cultural heart, the museum houses many high-quality temporary exhibitions and also offers many other activities: live shows, cinemas, workshops, etc.

The permanent workshops are intended for the artistic initiation of children and adolescents and supplemented by highlights intended to enhance the creativity of young audiences.

Only 1 hour from the gîtes of the Château de Romécourt, the Pompidou-Metz center is worth a detour.

Modular price according to the number of exhibition spaces open on the day of the visit. : 7 € / 10 € / 12 €


Departmental Salt Museum in Marsal

25 minutes by car from Romécourt

200,000 million years ago, the North Sea went down to Lorraine. From the Iron Age, exploitation of “salt ponds” developed on a quasi-industrial scale: it produced 20,000 tonnes of salt per year.

The many salt springs on the Marsal territory, fortified from the 13th century, aroused the envy of the Dukes of Lorraine, the Bishops of Metz and the Kings of France.

The museum is located in one of the two old fortified gates, known as “Porte de France”, a vestige of Vauban’s fortifications.

Today, the museum tries to restore to the visitor the process of exploitation of “white gold”, through production techniques since prehistoric times and also evokes the history of the ancient stronghold of Marsal.

This “Museum of France” consists of archaeological remains, historical and artistic works, as well as testimonies of daily life in connection with the production of salt.

Adult entry: 5 €

Reduced price: 3.5 €

Georges de La Tour departmental museum in Vic-sur-Seille

30 minutes by car from Romécourt

The Georges de La Tour Departmental Museum, opened in 2003, is located in the painter’s birthplace. It has a collection that covers European painting from the 17th to the beginning of the 20th century.

The major work of the museum is Saint John the Baptist in the desert by Georges de La Tour.

In 1593, the painter was born in Vic-sur-Seille, a city which was then distinguished by a certain spiritual and artistic life.

In addition to the court of the bishops, artists find in Vic-sur-Seille a clientele of convent and notables.

Immerse yourself, thanks to virtual reality, in the studio of an illustrious Lorraine artist and discover famous paintings by Georges de La Tour.

Full price: 5 €
Reduced price: 3.5 €

Saint-Quirin “one of the most beautiful villages in France”

45 minutes by car from Romécourt

Saint-Quirin has obtained the labels of: “the most beautiful villages in France” and “Station verte”. The town is located at the foot of the Donon massif, it has a remarkable heritage with its priory church, its chapels and its Gallo-Roman site.

Around Saint-Quirin:

Sarrebourg Moselle Sud is characterized by these forest landscapes. The state forests of Abreschviller, Walscheid and Saint-Quirin form a massif of 11,500 hectares in one piece, between 300 to 1,000 meters above sea level.

Several valleys: Sarre Blanche, Sarre Rouge, Zorn Jaune, Ruisseau d´Abreschviller and their tributaries descend from the massif. This forest, which is 75% coniferous and 25% deciduous (beech and oak), produces around 75,000 m3 of wood per year. They offer a magnificent playground for hikers.


Map of hikes around Saint-Quirin

Cave of Saint-Léon

45 minutes by car from Romécourt

The Saint-Léon cave, formed by erosion, is the deepest natural cavity in the Vosges. A majestic oak tree, several hundred years old, seems to watch over its entrance. From this point, the walker enjoys a splendid panorama over Walscheid and its surroundings. Depth: 32m – Width 24m – Height 8m.

Many hikes are possible from the village. Walscheid, a picturesque village at the gateway to the Vosges which is worth a detour. It is possible to combine this activity with a visit to the Abreschviller forest train.

Hiking in the Vosges